Recipe – No-Crust Pumpkin Pie

Hello,

Some of you might have noticed that there haven’t been that many blog posts in the past months. I’m writing hard on my thesis and won’t be able to update All That Magic as often as I’d like until I’m done with university. I’d be happy to flood you with my thoughts after graduation, because I haven’t stopped reading books ;). For now, I’ve got a seasonal recipe for you.

No-Crust Pumpkin Pie for Claudia

no crust pumpkin pieIt’s been three years since Claudia decided to share recipes for people with chewing and swallowing difficulties on her blog Geschmeidige Köstlichkeiten. Claudia thinks that having difficulties eating solid food doesn’t mean that you can’t eat varied and appealing meals. She is constantly trying and testing new recipes and even asks chefs for their contributions. For her third blogiversary, Claudia asked her readers and colleagues to think of something smooth and delicious for her to eat and I thought I’d make her some no-crust pumpkin pie.¹

Ingredients:
  • 5 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • pinch ground ginger
  • pinch ground cloves
  • pinch salt
  • 1 egg
  • 250 g canned pumpkin puree (have a look at the baby food section in your supermarket if you can’t find canned pumpkin, or make pumpkin puree yourself)
  • 150 ml evaporated milk (G: Kondensmilch, ungezuckert)
Instructions:

No crust pumpkin pie

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C/350°F.
  2. Mix sugar, ground cinnamon, ground ginger,, ground cloves and salt in a bowl.
  3. Lightly whisk the egg in a small bowl.
  4. Add the egg to the sugar mixture and stir.
  5. Add the pumpkin puree and stir.
  6. Gradually add the evaporated milk and keep stirring until combined.
  7. Lightly grease a ceramic, or glass baking dish, or ramekins. Pour in pumpkin batter.
  8. Bake for 15 min on 180°C/350°F, then reduce the heat to 160°C/320°F and bake until a knife inserted near the center comes out clean and the no-crust pie jiggles slightly (in my case 20 more minutes, if you use ramekins the baking time will be shorter).
  9. Let the pie cool down to room temperature and, to get a better consistency, put it in the fridge overnight.
  10. Serve and enjoy!

Geschmeidige Koestlichkeiten

 

¹ I adapted Alice Medrich’s Pumpkin Pudding recipe.

4 thoughts on “Recipe – No-Crust Pumpkin Pie

  1. How smart, using canned baby food! I never thought of that! A lazy-cook’s-workaround!
    All the best for working on your thesis!

    Like

Leave a comment