Review – Gebrauchsanleitung Mensch – How to Operate a Human by Paul Hawkins

Hi,

Have you finished your Christmas shopping? No? Do you still need a gift for that friend who’s already got everything, or your brother who doesn’t have a single hobby? I might have the perfect gift for you: How about “Gebrauchsanleitung Mensch” (English title How to Operate a Human) by Paul Hawkins?

Gebrauchsanleitung Mensch
Image provided by C. H. Beck¹

“Gebrauchsanleitung Mensch” is a manual for those who want to find out about all those hidden features the human body holds and for those who already know about them but want to have a good laugh anyways.

The book is divided into chapters like “Hardware” and “Software”, “Recharging”, or “Compatibility” that tell us more about the human body’s physique, needs, emotions, communication and relationships.

“Gebrauchsanleitung Mensch” looks very colorful on the outside, but it’s quite basic on the inside. The various shades of red that color the pages remind me of a dictionary or a lexicon, but they don’t look very pretty. If I had to save ink, I would have chosen to go all black and white instead. Overall, however, the book is fun to read with charts and drawings to break up the text.

While “Gebrauchsanweisung Mensch” follows an original idea and Paul Hawkins has a great sense of humor, I advise you to read in tiny dosages. I overdosed just a little and the book seemed to get less fun the more I read. If you stick to my advice, I’m sure you, your friend, brother, or even your dog will be very happy with this manual.

3 Star Rating: Recommended

Thank you Paul for sending me a copy in exchange for an honest review.

¹ http://www.chbeck.de/Hawkins-Gebrauchsanleitung-Mensch/productview.aspx?product=13694778

One thought on “Review – Gebrauchsanleitung Mensch – How to Operate a Human by Paul Hawkins

Leave a comment